Schnithouse – Norwood

Today on the Dining Diaries…

We come across a wings deal we just can’t say “no” to. 
We find a place where good atmosphere and good prices entice and
Good tastes all round ensure we’re definitely going to be coming back!

0f6ad1c4c201ce76c4f527edda5168b6 (1)Diners today hubby and I happened to walk into Schnithouse on the Norwood Parade at Norwood.

The building itself is pretty magnificent and about 148 years old. It was previously a Baptist church and if you walk past it, you’ll see photos of the church as it was in the past.

I’d never been in the building before and didn’t know it used to be a church. I was overwhelmed by the size of the interior as we walked in. I just love the way they’ve decorated it! It just makes you want to stay and spend your money.

FullSizeRender[5]

Although the interior is nice, it was a warm Autumn’s day and hubby and I couldn’t decide if we wanted to be seated inside or out so we chose what we called the atrium.


It was nice in that it felt private yet we still had full view of everything that was going on outside.

I’d never even seen a menu for this place and if you are going to visit, I’d recommend going for lunch time where you can get some pretty amazing meals for $10! I thought for sure I hadn’t seen that correctly but it was! Hubby also noticed wings were half price on Wednesday and once he saw that, he really didn’t need to see any more of the menu.
There were a choice of three dry rubs with the Wings and hubby chose “Hot to Trot”

The Prawn and Crabmeat Linguine – Blue swimmer crabmeat, onions, chilli, garlic and prawns in a rose sauce – really caught my eye!

We also noticed this intriguing dessert option
IMG_3333

Sounds pretty good right? We decided to forgo an entree and try to leave room for this dessert!

The meals were out pretty quickly

Hubby was happy with how his wings looked. The server even specified “Hot to Trot” as she placed it down before him.

FullSizeRender[2]
Unfortunately, there was nothing “hot” about these wings. They tasted good! No doubt about that, but hubby said they were more like chicken fingers than wings. Although it’s not the end of the world, it’s a little disappointing when you expect to get something and it’s not what it’s advertised to be.

I was really looking forward to my pasta.

FullSizeRender[1]
I wasn’t offered any cheese which I thought was a little surprising but that’s ok.
I had to look at the menu again because I was sure there was meant to be more than just three prawns in my pasta. Didn’t it say Blue Swimmer Crabmeat? There was definitely none of that in my pasta.
The prawns I did have were succulent and beautiful to eat. I had no complaints. The sauce was rich and a little creamy and it had quite a nice amount of heat to it!
I ended up letting hubby dip his wings in there.
Although it might not look like a large serve, you have to remember it was only $10 and it did taste pretty good even if there wasn’t any crab meat in there.

So we ate at the Schnithouse and neither of us actually had a schnitzel! Well there’s always next time. I did notice on the menu that there was an eggplant schnitzel and I’d really love to try that…

After we’d eaten our mains we definitely had room for dessert so I went to order us the Dessert parmi.

I’m not sure what happened but twenty minutes after I’d ordered I had to ask if it was going to be much longer (we had another engagement). Our mains had come out quicker than this!

The server said she’d check and was back in five or so minutes with our dessert but not an apology or explanation.
FullSizeRender
It probably looks a little better than it ended up tasting. I think we were enticed by the idea of it.
The “donut” was quite large and the amount of custard or whatever it was on top of it didn’t compensate for the dryness. If the donut had been a little smaller it might have worked… or maybe they could have put more custard on top? I’m not sure.
The banana was quite raw and not enjoyable to eat at all. The icecream was nice. A few grapes and apple pieces don’t really make a dessert do they? I mean there was no sauce/syrup or anything on them and it just looked a bit disappointing.

The icecream was nice but again, was not enough to cover for the dryness of the waffles.
I guess this dessert would have been a whole lot better if there was  a dipping sauce of some kind that we could have put the waffles and perhaps some of the donut and fruit into.

All in all, despite my complaints, I did enjoy our time here and yes I would definitely go back.

Have you been to the Schnithouse?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!!!

Till next we chow….

2 thoughts on “Schnithouse – Norwood

  1. we ate at the Sch(n)ithouse in Rundle Mall whilst the fringe was on, worst experience ever, vowed and declared right then and there, never again 😦 I don’t like giving bad feedback, but it has to be said, this place was definitely not for us 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the building–churches have some of the most beautiful architecture. Too bad about the doughnut, because it looked delish.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

