Napoli Pizzeria

Today on the Dining Diaries…

Too busy for more wine…
Too busy to keep up with orders and kitchen  but…
Not too busy to want to please….

Diners today we were at Napili Pizzerianapoli-wood-fired-pizzeria-mile-end-sa1.JPG.

You may have driven past it.

It’s located on Henley Beach rd, a few kilometres out of the CBD.

Walking in we noticed that if the tables didn’t already have someone sitting at them, they had a reserved sign on them. I didn’t think we were going to be able to eat in (they also have a thriving take away business) but the lovely girl who greeted us showed us to a table and said the people it was reserved for weren’t expected for quite some time.

There were lots of things I loved immediately about this place. First, the tableclothes!!

7ab208711fdc01c9642e5a7eee2b3854
Oh my god, can you get more Italian than that! Coupled with the Italian music that was playing, it was just perfect! I could also smell the pizza’s cooking and that was just making my mouth water. I couldn’t wait to see what was going to come from the kitchen!

We ordered some drinks and had a look through the menu. The waitress was very accommodating and answered any questions I had but it was clear that she had a lot of tables to look after on her own and was anxious to move on.

Hubby had his heart set on an antipasto platter, and a pizza to share so we did that.
The menu has it as “Antipasto A Modo Nostro” (serves 2) A selection of cold cuts, cheeses & Italian delicacies

“A Modo Nostro” means “our way” and I guess they really mean that because we got this lovely platter
fullsizerender1

and a serve of garlic bread (also pictured) but thirty minutes later I saw another anitpasto plate with slightly different things on there. The menu didn’t state that you can choose different options but I guess there’s the possibility that the diners who got the different platter specifically asked for different things on theirs.

The food itself was lovely! Everything was fresh and it was a perfect platter to share over a lovely wine… the only glass of wine we were going to be offered by the way.
I had to feel sorry for the waitress as she really did have a LOT of tables to cover by herself. She did it with grace and style but I was a bit sad that I didn’t have the chance to order another glass of wine.

I joined their Instagram page while we waited for our pizza and looked at the pictures of food they’d shared. Now I was really looking forward to ours!
After lots of “dings” from the kitchen, our pizza was brought out to us

fullsizerender
People have different expectations when it comes to pizza and we all have different things we prefer.
The dine-in menu only gives you the option of a 12 inch pizza. If you’re taking away you can have a 15 inch but the waitress said they currently don’t have plates for the 15 inch so they don’t offer them on the eat in menu.

Our pizza was one with “the lot”
I wasn’t disappointed by it. In fact there was lots of things I liked about it. The crust was crunchy and beautiful to eat. I wish I could have had it with another glass of wine. The middle of the pizza however was a little soggy. You couldn’t pick up a piece, it had to be cut with a knife and eaten with a fork. Or you could have just rolled the whole thing up and eaten it that way.
Hubby would have loved more toppings, in particular, cheese. For me, I like my pizza’s fairly sparse and I do believe that is the traditional Napoli way so I wasn’t disappointed at all. You may remember I’ve mentioned before that the best thing I love about pizza is the crust while hubby likes the toppings so he eats the middle bits and leaves me the crusts. It works well for us…

Napoli Ristorante has many good reviews online and the waitress mentioned that every time they have a good review, the restaurant gets excessively busy. There are lots of things to love about this place.
Personally, even though I liked what I had, I thought it was a little over priced for what we got however it wouldn’t dissuade me from going back because…
when the moon hits your eye like a great pizza pie that’s….. Napoli Ristorante!

Have you been to Napoli Ristorante?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!!

Till next we chow…

5 thoughts on “Napoli Pizzeria

  1. I like a good pizza and like you I like the crusts. I just wish people would leave the crusts alone and stop messing about with them. There was a place near the Railway Station a long time ago that made a decent pizza, but that was lost with the redevelopment of the area.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooo do you know the name of the place? I’d love to try it.
      Oh, and yesterday hubby and I found ourselves at Primos Henley Beach. You wouldn’t believe what they passed off as a pizza!!! It didn’t even look like pita bread, it looked more like a wrap. We were sad. Haha
      The Primos at Marion is not like that.

      Like

Leave a Reply

