The Albion

Today on the Dining Diaries…

Seeing large serves going out as we walk into the Bistro proves deceptive,
Barramundi – Death by cream and
The Brady House lives on!

2808e8ab8d2ab861e3e0ed883cfa9f55Diners today we were at The Albion Hotel, on Churchill Rd in Kilburn

I was a little apprehensive I must admit. I just wasn’t sure this was the type of place I wanted to be going to.
I’ve never been to the Albion so my hesitation wasn’t based on anything concrete.

Turns out I should have listened to my intuition.

Walking in, it seems like an average type pub. There is carpet. There is a salad bar.
The thing I loved most about The Albion is that they have all day dining every day! I wish more places did this!
The staff were smiley and friendly.I certainly couldn’t fault that!

We walked past the kitchen as we entered and saw a couple of pasta plates about to go out and they looked like pretty decent serves! I was excited!
It didn’t mean, unfortunately, that the other dishes were large serves. I should have gone with the pasta…

I kind of liked the fake brick wall and mirror. With the light fixtures in the background it reminded me of the Brady House.
I didn’t go into the outdoor area however it looked like there was a nice space out there with a bit of greenery to make it pretty for those choosing to drink or dine outside.

Although I’m not a fan of salad bars, I have to admit that the selection they had here was pretty good. It was smallish, but they had the favourites. Lots of roasted veggies and the bread was toasty warm! Nice.

Because we had the salad bar, we decided to skip an entree and just order a main.

Hubby chose the Pork – King Henry Pork Cutlet 300g parmesan crusted with stir fried bok choy on mash & red wine jus

fullsizerender2

I can’t say I was wowed by the presentation. It just looked like a bit of meat thrown on top of some greens. Hubby was soon tucking into it though and I could hear lots of “mmmmmm’s” so he was enjoying it.
He said there were great flavours throughout. He even enjoyed the Bok Choy which is not normally a favourite of his.

I decided to go for the Barramundi. Australian Wild Caught Parmesan Crusted Barramundi  on baby spinach & lemon parsley cream

fullsizerender3
I wish I’d chosen the pasta.
All I could see when it was placed in front of me was that sauce. Manu from MKR  would have loved it… at least he would have loved the amount…
The Barramundi was drowned in a heavy cream sauce. It was so thick and a little gluggy.
I’m not a fan of heavy creamy sauces and I didn’t think, whatever was in this sauce, matched with the crumbed barramundi.
I couldn’t even eat the spinach as they were soggy in that sauce.

I didn’t think the prices that were asked for these dishes, matched what we received. Each dish was $27.90 but that did include the salad bar as well.

I wonder if the serves are small because of the salad bar?
Could be…
Even though the total experience wasn’t terrible (and again I want to say the staff were very friendly and helpful) it would probably take a lot of convincing to have me visit this place again.

Have you been to The Albion?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Albion

  1. I have to confess a friend of mine owns this pub. They are a lovely Adelaide family running an honest quite stylish hotel in an upcoming working class suburb. This pub has undergone a massive transformation under their guidance and at their considerable expense. I’ve eaten there and enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the hospitality. IMO salad bar is worth the value of an entree course and being all you can eat the serve is up to you. Looks like two pieces of fish in the photo? I had a meal at Skyline Restaurant recently where for $40 I was served barra less than the size of a beer coaster and the children’s meal fish and chips was frozen, so maybe better value than it first seemed. Taken in context I think this pub is a stand out in the area and for a hotel sporting entertainment venue and community centre it bats well above its weight.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for your comments. I think what this emphasises is that what I’m capturing is a brief snapshot and doesn’t mean my experience is true for everyone or true for every meal! That’s why I was really happy to read your comments and I hope others reading my entry will also read your comment as you have more history with the Albion than my fleeting visit 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

  2. The Brady house…yes, me, too! I love the variety of salad bars, but the thought of all the people messing with them…well, that’s just botulism waiting to happen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

