Holdfast Hotel

Today on the Dining Diaries…

A Triple Cheese Burger also delivers twice cooked fries,
We learn it really is true, you get what you pay for and
Nautical themes, friendly staff and large serves make us forget the things we didn’t really like…

holdfastDiners today we were at the Holdfast Hotel on Brighton rd, Glenelg.

I have been here a few times and have never really had any complaints.
They  promote a lot of local bands and have live music on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights.
If you like going to see bands, this is a great place to kick back and see what’s happening in the Adelaide music scene.

We weren’t there for music today though. In fact we had very limited time and were just stopping in for a super quick lunch. I didn’t even order any wine!
img_7351

It felt different this time, as I walked into the modern looking dining area. I’m not sure if they’ve been renovating over the last few years but I noticed a bit of a nautical theme with ropes hanging from the ceiling.
I liked it.
The dining room is big and airy and there were already lots of people sitting around having some lunch.

We were brought over some menus and it wasn’t a bad selection, hubby and I just didn’t really know what we wanted and felt under pressure knowing we were pushing time.

I decided to order the 200g Porterhouse with fries and salad, and hubby went for the Triple Cheese and Bacon Burger.
We saw some meals coming out and they looked pretty good!! Well presented and beautifully large serves. One of the meals coming out was the burger hubby had also ordered and I hoped his was going to be as big as the one I saw because it was pretty impressive!

img_7350We didn’t order any sides or starters, just went straight for a main.

Hubby’s burger looked pretty good when it came out I thought.

That patty was pretty huge!
You can’t really see it in this picture but there was quite a bit of bacon. To me, it didn’t seem like the bacon had been cooked enough though.

When I asked hubby what he thought of it he said it was ok, it just didn’t have any pizzaz. The bun was a brioche bun and the doughy part was almost a yellow colour. He said there wasn’t much flavour or spice in the burger and it didn’t have any interesting sauces on it either. Although he didn’t hate it, it was not memorable. At $19 this burger is reasonably priced so I guess you couldn’t have expected too much more.

My porterhouse looked ok when it came out too but I kept wishing I’d ordered something else.

img_7349
The meat itself tasted ok. There was quite a bit of fat around it and it seemed pretty small but maybe that is what a 200g steak is supposed to look like.
The fries look way better in this picture than they did as I was eating them. They were clumped and cooked together. I’m sure they were cooked twice. They just seemed greased out. The ones on hubby’s plate were in the same condition.
The salad was ok and fairly fresh. I wasn’t a fan of the dressing but I still ate it all and that’s just down to personal preference.
My steak was $23.50 so I guess that’s a pretty reasonable price too.

We really didn’t hate it here so I hope my words aren’t going to be taken out of context. The restaurant is really comfortable to sit in and the staff are super friendly. The food came out quickly and there are a lot of people going in and out. It feels like it’s a “happy” place to be in. I think we were just too rushed and couldn’t enjoy the experience as we normally would.

I might just have to come back here on another night!

Have you been to the Holdfast Hotel?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!!

Till next we chow…

3 thoughts on “Holdfast Hotel

  1. When the trainee is on the fryer… Menu is all over the place but safe bet on the steak and burger, we’ve steered off course and found trouble but it’s a pleasant sorta place especially weekend lunch

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is what Adelaide seems to be serving as standard pub fare. It is a nice hotel especially for a friendly lunch. I think pubs need to do a bit of degreasing! It’s not like we don’t have the cooking skills in Adelaide.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the interior, but not really the exterior of the building. Too much fat without purpose, which should’ve just been trimmed, then. Bacon doesn’t seem cooked enough (hopefully it was?). Food looks like “okay”, but not “wow”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

