Montezumas – Glenelg

Today on the Dining Diaries….

A guilty secret pleasure is revisited…
Nacho’s unite the world and
One of the Spoon You Fork Me team learns there’s alcohol in Sangria….

Diners today we were at Montezuma’s in Glenelg.  Please don’t hate me when I say this is a guilty secret pleasure of mine. I’ve been wanting to come here for some time but my usual dining partner refuses to. So, as he was working today, I recruited a new member to the team and off we went.

I’ve been coming here for years, in fact the first time I went was when I’d just started seeing hubby and we’d gone to Noosa for the day and lo and behold, there was a Montezuma’s. Later on in the year we went to the Gold Coast Queensland for a week and spent a lot of time in the Montezuma’s there thanks to their half price lunch deal!

monte8.jpgToday I got to Montezuma’s before my dining partner and walked in to check I wouldn’t need to make a booking. It was a Sunday and a lovely warm day at that so I suspected it would be busy. Unfortunately, at 1pm, there were only a few tables being used. I was a bit shocked to be honest. And I was also shocked that they had the doors and windows closed. In fact, I wasn’t quite sure they were open at first.

monte7When I walked in it felt dingy and the air a little heavy with oil and cooking smells. I was worried about how this was going to affect my new dining partner who had never even eaten Mexican, let alone been to Montezuma’s.

I was happy to hear the Mexican music playing in the background and allowed myself to be transported.

Looking over the familiar menu I began to relax into my surroundings and was looking forward to eating the only main I ever order here. …

monte4But first, Sangria!!! The first time I’d ever had a Sangria was in a Montezuma’s restaurant.

My dining partner and I both had a glass. I was tempted to order a jug but I was driving so had to be responsible.

What makes Montezuma’s stand out is the gaudy (but lovable) colourful decorations. I kind of feel like I should hate them I kind of feel like if I’m supposed to be a “foodie”, I’m supposed to hate this place but I don’t, I love it. I love everything about it, even the gaudiness and though I’m not sure it’s authentic Mexican half the time, I don’t care!

 

Unfortunately these photos don’t show the bright colours of the decorations but trust me, they’re there!

While we were sitting in our booth, a gentleman came over to put one of the decorations, a sombrero, back on the wall. My dining partner said “oh no you don’t!!!!” which kind of surprised me, but then she added “I need to put it on first”  And, she did just that!

monte9

Yes… and we have a sombreo photo to prove it!

I should probably also add that after I’d finished my Sangria I said “I’d love another but I probably shouldn’t seeing as I’m driving” and she said “oh, there’s alcohol in that? No wonder I feel a bit tipsy…” 

Enough chit chat, on to the food!

We ordered a full serve of Nacho’s to begin with….

monte3
The lighting was pretty dim in there so I’m sorry that it doesn’t look too flash but let me tell you they tasted pretty good!!! Believe it or not, my dining partner had not had nacho’s before and hadn’t even had refried beans before so this was a real treat for her!

We had vegetarian nachos which was refried beans, salsa and cheese surrounded by corn chips. Delicious!!

No sooner had we finished those but out came our mains!
I’d ordered my tried and true favourite, Chili Verde and my dining partner went for the Durango which is Chicken and Sour Cream Enchilada, Beef Enchilada, beans and rice.

monte2

Again I apologise for the poor lighting. Remember my dining partner had never eaten food like this before and she found it very delicious. She had nothing to compare it to though. She said everything was good and loved the refried beans. She said she was surprised at how much she liked it as she had always thought she wouldn’t like Mexican food.

monte1

My Chili Verde was everything I’ve always expected it to be. The beef was tender and accompanied by that chili which lit my tastebuds!!! Delicious!! and I really really love the way they do their rice here. I’ve tried to replicate that crispiness at home but it’s never worked out.

I don’t pretend to be a snobbish foodie. I like what I like and I know this place isn’t for everyone but I’ve got fond memories attached here and yes, I really do love the whole experience from the gaudy decorations to the food itself!! Our waiter today also had an accent and yes that helps!!!
I’m sure we’ll be back many more times and I’m sure I’ll probably keep drinking the Sangria and ordering the Chili Verde….

Have you been to Montezuma’s?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!!!

Till next we chow…

8 thoughts on “Montezumas – Glenelg

Leave a Reply

