Jamie’s Italian

Today on the Dining Diaries…

We are served meatballs that have us reaching for our water/wine
We discover Jamie’s secret…. add breadcrumbs to all your pasta dishes and
We learn that “salt” is a four letter word that is offensive and will certainly NOT be added to any dish!

j1.jpg

Diners today we were at Jamie’s Italian in the Adelaide CBD.

The first time I dined here was with a group of work mates shortly after it opened. I was almost wetting my pants with excitement that night but was completely let down.I was in a party of about eight and of those eight, only one of us enjoyed what they ate (and for the record that dish was the squid ink pasta or something like that)

Hubby had never been here though and some time had certainly past since I’d been here so I thought why not, lets go in and see if anything has changed.

The building is quite magnificent!! No doubt about that! And the moment we walked in we could smell pasta sauce, garlic and Parmesan and it just got us aching to taste that food!
The bathrooms in this place are quite unique too. In fact anyone who’s been there will tell you it’s worth the trip, just to get a look at them!
I took a few pictures when hopefully no one was looking to give you some idea…


The staff were pretty friendly. We looked around and noticed a couple of tables in booths and asked if we could sit in one of them. The waiter said we couldn’t have the corner one (more room) as that was reserved but we could take the smaller table next to us.

The only reason I mention this is that twenty minutes later, a couple who’d been sitting on the other side of that corner table moved themselves over (to have more room) and no one seemed too put out by it so why hadn’t they allowed us to sit there?

j2

The menu looked to be pretty much the same although there were a few different options on there from when I was here last.

I think it’s also a little pricier than when I was here last but I could be wrong about that too.
One thing that has changed is at least they have SA wine represented on the wine list now! Imagine!

j3

I love the look of this place. The room is so grand. There lots of “Italian” looking things around from the herbs hanging to the died pasta  in baskets on the side of the room.

They’ve obviously gone to some effort to sell that “Italian” part so why oh why will they not play Italian music in this place?

I had to listen to a mixture of old and new tunes.

I just think it would do so much more for the place and raise the authenticity.

Our dining neighbours on my right were very friendly and after I apologised for ogling their food (I wanted to see what it looked like before I ordered!) told me they’d ordered entree’ size and it actually looked like a decent portion! I was a little surprised as last time I’d been here I thought the portions were small.

j8Emboldened by their food I ordered the  Tagliatelle Bolognese. Hubby went for the Meatball Pappardelle. I noticed that most of their pastas came with “herby breadcrumbs”. I’m not a chef but I just think that’s a strange thing to put in a pasta dish.
Our drinks came by way of an absent minded waiter who plonked the glasses down awkwardly and left us a bit of extra herb on the side of one glass.

Did it come from his hand?
Was the glass unclean?
We’ll never know…

We’d ordered a serve of fries first. If you follow this blog you know that hubby and I do this quite a bit. Usually they range in price from $6-9 and we have enough to share before our main.

This is what we got at Jamie’s for $6.95 – I left the pepper shaker in the picture so you can have some perspective of size.

j10

Oh Jamie… not cool!!!! I wanted to cry!
The girls on the table to our left (Who we became quite friendly with) got their fries at about the same time and had the same reaction that we did! It was a shame because out of everything we ate, these fries actually had the most seasoning on them, yet they were so tiny.

So after a few fries we were eager for the main

j12

Above is the Bolognese. It looks pretty good I think. Unfortunately, they don’t give you any bread with their pasta. Bit strange isn’t it? I guess we could have bought some bread but I thought it was pretty much common practice to give you a few slices, especially if you’re ordering a pasta in an Italian restaurant!
The first thing I noticed was the crunch. I wasn’t sure what it was at first and then I realised it was the breadcrumbs. I have to say I’m not a fan. It made the pasta taste a little weird too… or maybe the pasta was just weird? I don’t know. Something just wasn’t right. I didn’t HATE it. I mean I ate it all, but something just wasn’t right.
If you look closely you’ll notice little orange bits in there too… they’re bits of carrot. Yes that’s right, carrots in a bolognese sauce. Not a fan of that either. At least my serve was a decent size though. Hubby was not so lucky.

j11
It looks pretty on the plate but he too had the crunchy breadcrumbs and he wasn’t a fan of that either. He thought it was bland. In fact so was mine. I’m pretty sure they don’t use salt in this place. I know you can add it but if the pasta or sauce is not cooked in salt it just tastes different. Nothing can make that better.
The meatballs themselves had an interesting taste. I kind of liked the fennel in there but they were sooooooo dry. They were so dry they were hard to swallow. Again, such a shame because at least these tasted good! But they were not pleasant to eat.

I’m really sorry I don’t have a lot of good things to say about Jamie’s. I still think it’s worth a visit, just don’t get your hopes up! The staff, at least some of them, interact well with customers.

We actually spent a good twenty to thirty minutes talking to the lovely girls on the table to my left about how disappointing the food was (oh we were social today!!!) but the funny thing was, when the waiter came to ask how everything was they said “oh yeah good thanks”. 
We all do that but I thought the timing of that question, was pretty funny.

So there you have it – Jamie’s Italian. Good building, Good bathroom, Some good staff but the food leaves a lot to be desired.
Gordon Ramsey where the F*&* are you!!!

Have you eaten at Jamie’s Italian?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!

Till next we chow…

14 thoughts on “Jamie’s Italian

  1. There’s a conundrum with JO’s Adelaide that the building and the food don’t match. Other JO locations are nowhere near as grand and put the food better in perspective as cheery modern Italian at a reasonable price. The planks worked well for us last visit. The crumbs in pasta is a texture thing. Interesting review always enjoy reading them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We were there just over a year ago and like you Margot, we loved the building and the bathrooms too but the food…very very mediocre. I thought the same thing too about the music! How hard is it to play Italian music? Also, how hard is it to get an Italian chef to cook decent Italian food? Like everyone else I wanted to see what all the fuss was about and now that I’ve been I wont go again. I must mention though that you both should have tried the polenta chips. They were the best part of our meal.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Finally went there last year and I have to agree with all your points. Weirdly enough all the food left a kind of odd taste in my mouth! Strange flavors and dressings in the salad too. Hmmmmm I hope it gets better one day as like you said the building is SO magnificent! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hate to say this to you, but I have been dicing carrots in my Bolognese Sauce for decades. It was a trick an old Italian chef taught me, for natural sweetness to cut some of the acid with out using sugar. Though the odds are that you wouldn’t see the carrots in my sauce.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s interesting. It must be a regional thing. My parents were born in Italy and migrated to Australia in the 60’s. I don’t know any of my relatives that would make a Bolognese Sauce with carrots.
      One of the girls we were talking to in this restaurant was also Italian and a chef by trade and she thought it was strange too. I guess we all do it a bit differently and it’s all “authentic” in its own way… I’d never heard of it before though!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. No to the jailhouse looks; no to the dirty glass; no to the boring-looking meatball dish — looks like an over-priced failure. Sorry. But thanks for the sustained laugh with the pepper shaker: fries proportion perspective!

    Like

Leave a Reply

