Sussex Hotel

Today on the Dining Diaries…

We see a platter that captures hubby’s attention for the duration of our meal – unfortunately it was not on OUR table…
An unexpected salad bar sighting has hubby in raptures and..
We experience a burger without the works….

thumbDiners today we were at The Sussex Hotel. We got here quite by accident because we’d actually gone into another establishment a little down the road and after sitting down and looking at the menu for over five minutes, hubby and I looked at each other and said “you know, there is another place down the road….” And that other place was the Sussex!

I was so glad we’d decided to come here instead because from the moment we walked in the mood was different. The staff were really friendly and there were lots of people eating what looked to be good food! Hubby was sold as soon as he saw the salad bar.

dPic8They’ve got a couple of different dining areas. We chose to sit inside, but overlooking the nice outdoor area. There was a tv screen, music playing, people dining – all made us feel comfortable and welcome.

We checked out the menu but hubby was having a hard time because he couldn’t get his eyes off the table next to ours. They had ordered a share plate that just looked phenomenal. I later tried to find it on the menu online, and although there is a share plate listed on there, I don’t think it’s the same as the one we saw. A couple of girls had ordered it and it had all sorts of meats on there which was not in the description I saw for the share platter online – Ham, salami, that kind of thing! Hubby was almost begging me to get that with him but I just didn’t feel like eating finger foods. He contemplated getting it on his own I’m sure…

Hubby ended up ordering the Sussex Burger and I went for the Barramundi – oven baked, served with mash potato, wilted greens and beetroot hollandaise. The beetroot hollandaise sounded interesting to me!

dPic4So after ordering we went to check out the salad bar.

I must admit, I didn’t check out the cold salads really.

They had the general fare- scalloped potatoes, creamed cauliflower, broccoli and beans… It all looked ok. Some things tasted better than they looked – not sure if that’s a good thing. I was a bit disappointed with the bread. It was just regular sliced bread, not cute little dinner rolls as I would have liked.

Now on to our mains!

I always rib hubby that I order better than him and today, it was true once again.

sussesx1
I don’t think there is anything I could fault about this dish. Look at how pretty it looks on the plate. That beetroot hollandaise really is a gorgeous colour!
Looks are one thing, but this dish also had taste. From the greens on top to the Barramundi and mash on the bottom… everything was a pleasure to eat. I was really hoping hubby wasn’t going to ask me for  a taste because I didn’t want to share. The peppercorns on top of the barramundi lit up my tastebuds! The dish itself was also temperature hot which I loved. I would definitely have this dish again.

Hubby went for the Sussex Burger.

sussex2

It looked pretty good when it came out. Surprisingly, it was the only burger on the menu… unless we missed something?? Hubby thinks he even saw a sign boasting they had the best burgers in Adelaide (plural) but this was the only option on the menu.
As he was eating it he realised there was no cheese, no bacon, no egg… and we didn’t have the option of asking for these to be added either.
The menu does state that it comes with cheese, but there was none in hubby’s burger. He said the patty seemed too small compared to the size of the bread and seemed a bit mushy. He did like the bread though. I would have liked it toasted (it wasn’t).
Overall it was really disappointing for him. There was nothing “bad” about it, it just wasn’t what he’d expect to get when ordering a burger.

You have to remember that as he’s eating this less than perfect burger, he’s still ogling the next door table with that share platter. They had to end up getting a take away container as they weren’t able to finish it all and I had a teensy weensy bit of guilt as hubby kept muttering “I never get what I want” – which for the record, is a lie.

I feel that there were mostly positives about our trip to the Sussex today and I would definitely recommend this place – perhaps just don’t order the burger!

Have you been to The Sussex?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!

Till next we chow…

3 thoughts on “Sussex Hotel

  1. Again, Margot — you’ve captured the restaurant perfectly in your photos. I love the natural lighting playing with the shadows of the chairs, and I love the strong light and angles coming from the salad bar shot, mixed with the warm tones of the natural woods, stones, and metals, etc. If someone doesn’t snap you up for a position in a magazine doing their restaurant shots for food reviews, they’d be remiss! Really; I’m quite serious!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

