Parlamento

Today on the Dining Diaries…

We enter an establishment that is not too proud to name drop
We watch a dining room go from lay back chill to exciting, loud and happening and
I’m served a pasta sauce that was just begging to be mopped up with bread.

Diners today we were at Parlamento, that well known Italian restaurant opposite Parliament House – hence the name – and Adelaide railway station.

I waited inside for my dining partner and was seated at a table right up near the window which allowed me to people watch in anonymity.
Because it was still quite early in the evening, there were only a few people in there and it was quite relaxed and chill. Jazz music played quietly in the background and the dim lights and soft tones were quite comforting. That changed dramatically as the evening progressed!

I was impressed by the nature of the wait staff. They  were respectfully cheeky – they also knew when to come and take our order, and when to leave us alone. That probably comes from years of being in the business.

I had a look through their website before arriving and they are not shy about naming the celebrities that have dined there. They quote an article which I assume was written for the Adelaide Advertiser where they even call “Jacki Weaver” a Hollywood darling and mentions her regular meal was a risotto and carafe of red. I’m not sure I’d like that to be public knowledge myself!

When it came to ordering my hunger leapt with delight as I saw they had a Fettucini Ragu on the menu and that was exactly what I had been craving for! My dining partner had a few diet restrictions and the waiter did what he could to accomodate her and made a few suggestions. In the end she chose Penne alla Puttanesca (no I’m not swearing)

They didn’t take too long to come out, not that we would have noticed as there was non stop talking going on at our table…. and when they did come out, they did not disappoint!! They looked fantastic and the aroma’s from each were just delectable.

par2
Penne alla Puttanesca

The Penne had a strong tomato and basil flavour.

We took a minute to enjoy the aroma before beginning.

Unfortunately for my dining partner, she said the flavours were a little lacking.

To be fair to Parlamento’s, they do normally serve this dish with anchovies and my dining partner asked for them to be removed.

However she still enjoyed the dish and said the pasta was cooked al dente – as it should be.

par1
Fettucini Ragu

I was in raptures with mine it was everything I was hoping it was going to be.

If I’d been allowed to put on that Parmesan myself, I’m sure I would have put a load more but the nice waiter was doing it for me and I was too embarrassed to say “more… more… more… more.. ok stop”

Again the smell of the sauce was so captivating and I’m glad they’d given us some bread because I was going to be mopping that up whether it was the proper etiquette or not!

There was a generous amount of tender flaky meat in my dish and that pasta was cooked perfectly. It really was an enjoyable dish.

The Parlamento menu had a lot of pasta’s but it did have some other restaurant favourites too and I had to wonder if I would have enjoyed those equally as much. It definitely makes me want to go back and try!

By the time we were leaving the place was packed to the brim of people enjoying each other’s company and enjoying the food. The atmosphere was quite alive!

Who knows, maybe I’ll even have the risotto and a carafe of wine? Oh Jacki….

Have you been to Parlamento’s?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!

Till next we chow…

9 thoughts on “Parlamento

  1. I have not tried there yet but my sister is always saying it’s fantastic and that we should go there but we haven’t made it there yet. She appreciates the atmosphere, the food and the good service.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What spectacular photos you’ve captured, in the cityscape and in the foodscape. The ragu looks sooooo good… The puttanesca does too, but again, the sauce looks too thin to carry much flavor. More parmesan, please!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

