Woodville Hotel

Today on the Dining Diaries…

We learn that the size of one main is not directly proportional to the size of another
We bask in the glory of a heated outdoor area and
We discover that nice dining areas and friendly staff can push a dining experience over the “average” line.

Hello fellow diners, today the team was at The Woodville Hotel

banner.

The first thing we noticed was that it had a few different dining areas. The main area was completely booked out so we walked out into “the yard”.
According to their website, they have recently upgraded and I quite liked this area. FullSizeRender (89)Although this is an “outside” area, it’s protected from the elements but still allows glorious sunlight to stream on through the windows warming up my chilled bones. The heating in that area helped a bit too!!

There were staff bustling about here and there but all were very friendly and eager to please.
We looked at the menu and I noticed the regular sort of pub fare that you’d expect from any decent bistro. Nothing really jumped out at me. They had parmi’s, steaks, burgers, pizza’s and a few seafood options.
Because I’d seen this on the menu online before arriving, I knew I was going to order the bruschetta to share with hubby as an entree. It also helped that I saw a serve of this coming out and it looked quite big!

For main hubby jumped out of his steak comfort zone and went for the Oven Baked Chicken Breast : Filled with double smoked ham, semi-dried tomato and haloumi cheese served on garlic mash potato and topped with citrus hollandaise

I chose the Coorong Beef Rump Parmigiana: With chips, salad and your choice of sauce

I swear I’d barely sat back at the table after ordering before the bruschetta came out.

FullSizeRender (90)

I had been craving this and was really really looking forward to it! It didn’t disappoint. It looked pretty on the plate. The bread was lovely continental bread, lightly toasted, and the tomatoes were sweet and full of flavour. I just love tomato and basil. Such a heavenly combination! The sticky balsamic added a nice touch too. If I’m being picky I’d say I’d prefer my bread to be a little more toasted but hubby said he liked it just the way it was so that just comes down to personal preference.

Unfortunately it was finished just as quick as it came out and now our hunger, rather than being partially satiated, was enraged! We had been warned that hubby’s chicken was going to take at least thirty minutes before it was ready however it did seem like it came out sooner than that. Still, I like when you get that warning because then you’re not left wondering if they’ve forgotten your order.

Hubby was a little disappointed when he saw his dish. Only because to him, it looked small. I’ve taken pictures from both sides so you can get a better idea of what came out.
I thought it looked ok on the plate but probably could have done with a bigger salad so that the meat didn’t look so lonesome and maybe could have done with some fries on there too. I mean when you compare it to what mine was, this is like an itty bitty serve and yet cost quite a bit more than mine. I know that’s not how things are priced but when you have a hunger….
There was nothing wrong with the taste of it. Hubby said it was good. Nice flavours throughout but he couldn’t get past the size of it. Not that he should have complained really because he ended up eating half of mine!

Again I couldn’t choose what picture to post so I’ve shown you a couple from different angles. This beef parmi was HUGE! And they were so generous with that cheese!!
The meat was good, tender, the tomato sauce was ok and the cheese was gooey as it should be. All good. No complaints.
I’m not sure why we weren’t “wowed” as there was nothing wrong with anything either of us ate and everyone was lovely to us. Most of the things we saw on the menu I thought were reasonably priced or at least, comparable to other pubs/bistro’s.

If you’re a local or simply looking for a good bistro I would recommend The Woodville. The food is good, the prices are reasonable, the staff is friendly and from what I see, there’s usually quite a few people about!

Have you been to the Woodville?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!

Till next we chow…

 

2 thoughts on “Woodville Hotel

  1. Parmigianas in Adelaide do seem to be on the huge side. That does not worry me but maybe they need to offer a smaller one as well. As for the mismatch in food sizes for same course and similar price – I hate that! All looks wonderful, though, I have to say.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

