The Flagstaff

Today on the Dining Diaries…

We experience “diners regret”
We happen upon yet another salad bar and
We find a chef with a fridge full of cream and he’s not afraid to use it.

flagstaff-hotel
Flagstaff Hotel – by day

Hello fellow diners. Today we’re at The Flagstaff; A hotel that’s situated on the corner of the busy South and Marion Road intersection.

We were here in the early evening and I couldn’t decide if the view of traffic speeding by with their twinkling head lights was strangely comforting or causing some mild anxiety.

Hubby and I had both had a bit of a stressful day and I don’t think we’d wound down enough when we entered the Hotel. I know I myself just wasn’t “feeling it” tonight and I don’t think that was The Flagstaff’s fault.

flagstaff-hotel (1)We walked into the large Bistro area dining room. Hubby saw the Salad Bar immediately and his eyes lit up but my guess is he researched this before we left home and that’s why he wanted to come here. Cheeky.

We felt a little lost but grabbed a table while I searched for some menu’s. There were a LOT of people here so this place is happening although I think we brought the average age level down a little when we walked in.

I thought there were lots of good options on the menu but nothing jumped out at me. It was regular good pub food. Again, I just wasn’t feeling it so I don’t want to blame that on The Flagstaff.
I waited in the long line to place our order while hubby gleefully raced to the salad bar. I ended up ordering the Baked Barramundi – Served with eggplant, truss tomatoes, ratatouille and a salsa verde (I’m not convinced I got all that) and hubby ordered the Pulled Pork Burger – slow cooked pork,double smoked bacon, tasty cheese, slaw, and kewpi mayonnaise on a glazed bun with sliced dill pickles and crunchy chips

The salad bar greatly lived up to hubby’s expectations. Lots of cold and hot choices AND two choices of soup as well. I noticed the potatoes, broccoli and pasta salad all had heavy doses of cream. I tried some of the “rich tomato soup” and I wasn’t sure what to think. It tasted like someone had added cream and cheese to a canned soup. Perhaps I’m being too harsh but it wasn’t to my liking, however everything else there was just fine.

We saw other meals coming out and immediately got diners envy. Everything looked big and delicious!

We weren’t disappointed with our plates when they came out either.

FullSizeRender (18)Hubby’s Pulled Pork Burger looked amazing!! Overflowing with that pork and just oozing yumminess.

I wasn’t sure how he was going to be able to eat it though and told him “good luck with that”.

I’m pretty sure he’d zoned out at that stage and only had senses for the burger he was about to devour.

Eventually he said “It’s a bitch to eat but I love it” which summed the dish up nicely!

The pulled pork was tender and had a gorgeous taste and was definitely a winner.

 

FullSizeRender (19)My Barramundi dish looked pretty good when it came out too.

I love the different colours. It definitely was an inviting dish but I just would have liked to have been able to see the fish.
You can just see it if you look hard enough.

The broccoli and greens were good. Tasty, crunchy and a nice compliment to the fish.

The fish itself was cooked really well and tasted lovely. I had no complaints about it although I really could have done without that sauce that was so very thick and rich.

I wasn’t won over by the ratatouille. It was almost like a carrot fritter. I’m assuming the orange thing is the ratatouille. I’m really not sure. The menu also said that there would be eggplant and truss tomatoes – or were they in the ratatouille? I don’t know, but I couldn’t taste them.
These are all just minor things. The star of the dish was the Barramundi and it was delicious.

I would recommend you try The Flagstaff for yourself. It’s very popular and you’re sure to find something you like on the menu – Dare I say it, the salad bar alone is worth the visit.

 

Have you been to The Flagstaff?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!

Till next we chow…

 

One thought on “The Flagstaff

  1. You could almost start a “Guess That Dish” feature, where readers get to try to match that dish to the menu description! My best guess is that the eggplant is fried and frittered in that carrot-tomato hash (my Mom used to make a veggie ratatouille with carrots and tomatoes, too, and it looked like that, but she grated, not shredded, the carrots), which I mistook to be the alleged fish; but, then, I indeed spied that fish after you intimated it was a “hide-and-seek” mission! That sandwich? Wow-za-wow-za-wow! Hubby must’ve been smiling!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

