Tower Hotel

Today on the Dining Diaries we learn that…

Grease is the swear word…
The amount of carpet is usually directly proportional to the amount of seniors and,
If you throw some frozen peas and corn into a baine-marie, you can call it a Salad Bar.

Diners it always breaks my heart to write a review that is not so pleasant. Mind you, not everything was bad but we’ll get to that later….

the-tower-hotelToday the team was at The Tower Hotel at Magill.

I’m not sure exactly why we went here except for the fact that hubby really really wanted to go somewhere that had a salad bar. I swear he’s fixated on those things at the moment… so we googled it and this place came up as somewhere we hadn’t been, so we thought we’d try it out.
I’m crying a little on the inside even as I write this.

It was a nice enough place when we walked in if you ignored the carpet. The staff were certainly friendly and at 12.30pm it was already full of seniors.
We grabbed a couple of menus and sat ourselves close enough to the salad bar that hopefully we wouldn’t be noticed making multiple trips to it…
In retrospect, we needn’t have worried.

The menu itself was great. Lots of things to choose from at reasonable prices. Hubby and I both chose from the “Chef’s Features” section. He chose “Slow Cooked BBQ Beef Short Ribs, twisted potato wedges, char grilled corn” and I went for the “Crispy Skin Atlantic Salmon with garlic buttered chats, grilled asparagus and hollandaise”

After ordering we took out little salad dishes and went to check out the salad bar. Hubby described it  this way – It’s a mile long with an inch of food.
I was a little too embarrassed to take a picture of it but I wish I had. It was about 12.45pm when we got there and the scalloped potatoes were almost empty. The baked potatoes were half gone but there were peas and corn sitting in warm water. Fill up to your hearts content!
They had a few cold salads on the other side – notably a potato salad and a pasta salad.
We took what we could and went back to our table. The cold salad looked as if it had been sitting there for some time but actually tasted surprisingly ok. It just would have been nice if there had been more variety. I would have really liked to have had some scalloped potatoes and although servers were walking past the salad bar, no one seemed to notice that the tray was virtually empty.
Finally at 1.05pm a senior grabbed a server and pointed at the empty trays in the salad bar at at 1.15pm, a new tray came out.
I went over to get some but was again disappointed. The potatoes were mushy and it seemed as if a carton of cream had just been thrown over the top of them.
Never mind… the meals were still to come!

I’ll start with mine because that was definitely the winner out of our two mains.
FullSizeRender (70)

I don’t often have fish so wasn’t sure if I was going to like this but it was just absolutely delicious! The skin was only mildly crispy but that didn’t matter. The fish was grilled and flavourful and really was a delight to eat! The asparagus was crispy and a nice accompaniment as were the tomatoes. The only thing I could have done without was the hollandaise sauce that tasted like popcorn butter to me.
Like a kid I grabbed a bread roll and made a tomato sandwich out of the tomatoes on the plate. They were really sweet and it was all too delicious but poor poor hubby….

Hubby decided to go for the ribs. He’d had them at our last review and I guess he was still riding that high…
IMG_6611

Believe me when I say I tried to make this picture look good.
He tried to start of positive and said the ribs were “ok”. There was quite a bit of fat around them. I tried a piece and got a mouth full of fat too. He said the meat was really quite chewy and the bbq sauce that was on it seemed to make them chewier still. The meat was not falling off the bone as it’s supposed to be but he didn’t mind the flavour of it.
When he ate his potatoes, he said all he could taste was grease. Now we’re not afraid of a little grease but he said it made him feel disgusting and that was all he could taste.

So I’m very sorry to say we didn’t have a fantastic time here.
The dining room was clean but looked dated however they do seem to have their regulars as I noticed lots of banter between the staff and their elderly diners. It clearly has earned a spot in this community so don’t go by opinion, go and judge for yourself!

Have you been to the Tower Hotel?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below.

Till next we chow….

8 thoughts on “Tower Hotel

  1. I feel that it is true that there are two aspects to food – vision and taste: please the eye and the likelihood is that you will please the palate. Sorry but I didn’t like the look of either of these dishes and that really would have put me off. Again sorry but the sauce looked as if it had been plonked on as an afterthought. Also I do like a good salad bar. No not for me, but it is a community thing as you say and the community seems to like it well enough.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The fish looks delish, but not that sauce. They should’ve served the veg in one small stainless casserole, halved the round things on the perimeter (potatoes, tomatos) and spooned the sauce over asparagus in the middle, then placed it on the plate beside the fish. Your husband’s potatoes LOOK good, but we know better. The best parts of this review were your humorous moments — you really had me laughing and it showed your personality well. Good job with the review; too bad for the restaurant.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Popcorn butter? Ick. I love salad bars, too, because it would cost so much to do something like that at home. I know this may sound pedestrian, but I remember Ruby Tuesday had a really good salad bar. Loved their pumperknickel croutons. Living down in the Deep South where you feel like your face is going to melt off, cold salads are refreshing. We love all kinds–pasta, potato, but fruit, not so much. One of my favorites is the muffuletta salad, which is based on one of the best sandwiches in the world–the muffuletta from New Orleans.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

