The Pickled Duck

Today on the Dining Diaries,

The size of the chili and the sour cream provided actually match the amount of wedges given,
The size and layout of the restaurant make our hearts go pitter, patter and
The size of the burger make us wonder if indeed, size does matter?

the-pickled-duck-5.jpgToday the team were at The Pickled Duck.

Ever since I’ve been writing this blog, I’ve had recommendations to visit The Pickled Duck.
Today, as we found ourselves in the area we thought, why not?

It was a strange time to be eating – 3.30pm. We had both missed lunch and didn’t want to wait three hours or so for dinner but The Pickled Duck have all day dining so that was helpful!

The first thing we noticed as we walked in was how large and clean the restaurant was. High ceilings and heavy wood featured in the decor giving us a relaxed, family style restaurant feeling. Maybe something Mike Brady from the Brady Bunch would have designed.  It made us feel comfortable!
We were given menus and told to come up to the bar when we were ready to order.

The menu itself was simple and easy to understand. They mostly have burgers, pizza’s and a few salads as well. They also had desserts on the menu, including dessert pizzas!

From what I had heard, burgers were the specialty so I was eager to try one. Hubby decided to go for some sliders so that he could get a good idea of what a few different burgers would taste like. I think the slider option is a great one for exactly that reason and on this menu you were able to order as many as you want, starting from just one which is great if you have someone with a small appetite in your party.

The restaurant is next to a bottle shop and they have a joining door which could prove to be handy. They encourage their diners to take advantage of the wine cellar where they showcase a fine collection of Australian and world renowned wines. They also have a unique selection of craft beers from some of the finest South Australian microbreweries.
I did think there were lots of great options on the wine menu and ordered one of my favourites.

I did feel a little disappointed when the meals came out. In retrospect, they were very filling and I’m sure the size would be big enough for the average diner but my first impression was that it was a little small.
FullSizeRender (36)

I ordered the Swiss Beef Burger.
Beef, sautéed swiss mushrooms, caramelised onions, rocket, gorgonzola cheese sauce.

It was such a tasty little package!! The meat was just gorgeously seasoned and the caramelised onions.. mmmm is there a more perfect combination? They weren’t stingy on the muchrooms either and together, it was really a delight to eat. Hubby was both amused and horrified as he watched me trying to eat this with sauces dripping down my fingers and smeared on my face. But that’s got to tell you that what you’re eating is good right??

FullSizeRender (37)

He made a really good choice ordering the four sliders.

BEEF SLIDER- smoky BBQ onion jam
PORK SLIDER- asian slaw, baja sauce
DUCK SLIDER- pickled green onion, carrot slaw
CHICKEN SLIDER -smashed avocado, rocket

He started off with the pork slider. He said he found it a little dry but it was still very good and tasty.
The next one he tried was the beef slider and that was such a brilliant explosion of taste in his mouth that he decided to keep that one till last. He loved the bbq sauce – He said it reminded him of bbq ribs.
His third slider was the chicken slider. He said that was delicious also and was smothered in mayonnaise.
Last of all was the duck slider. We had forgotten that was one of the options and as we don’t often eat duck, were interested in how it would taste. Hubby said it was nice but not his favourite. I’m not into pickled onions in my burgers so I don’t think I would have liked this one myself.

FullSizeRender (35)We also ordered some wedges and I’m just mentioning them as surprisingly, we even had a little sour cream and chili left over after the wedges were gone… That never happens!!

I liked that the server came to check on us to make sure everything was as we’d ordered. I had told him that I’d heard good things about this place and he said must have been because of his great service which I thought was a good response!

All in all we had a nice time at The Pickled Duck. The food is definitely above average and you can tell they really care about what they’re going to present you.
Definitely a recommend from me!

Have you eaten at The Pickled Duck?
What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!

Till next we chow…

2 thoughts on “The Pickled Duck

Leave a Reply

