Turning Japanese – Part Twelve

Today is our last day in this gloriously complex  land.

After a breakfast of coffee, we took a train into the downtown area and after walking past a million restaurants, chose one to go into.
Now up till now, we’ve been hesitant to go into the ones where a bench encircles the kitchen and you sit there and eat. Similar to a bar. You’re all facing to cooks.

Today we did it though. We walked in, ordered from the machine and sat at that counter. A man came and took our tickets and gave us some water.

I think we ordered some kind of beef bowl but I’m not sure.

The meat was ok, the rice was delish!! I wish I knew what sauce was in there because it was really tasty.

FullSizeRender-68FullSizeRender-61
FullSizeRender-140

So we ate our food with chopsticks even though there was a spoon option and we were in full view of other diners. Just like locals!

Hubby says if we hadn’t had the comfort of the food court we would have graduated sooner.

Now we’re at the airport waiting to leave. This has really been an amazing experience.

I’ve found Japanese food to be different than I expected. Some I loved, some I could do without (nobody say octopus ever again please!!!).

The people here have impressed me so much. So kind and polite.

I hope they don’t get influenced negatively by our Western ways.

Thank you for sharing this experience with us.

Stay tuned for regular Dining Diaries entries starting again soon!

Till next we chow…

One thought on “Turning Japanese – Part Twelve

  1. That stuff is Gyudon (beef bowl), https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gyūdon, and it’s so good. I lived on it for about 3 weeks when I first lived in Japan. Then I couldn’t eat it again for about 6 months, then I fell in love with it again.

    I so wish we had it here in New Zealand and Australia. It’s cheap, it’s fast and it isn’t deep fried.

    I used to squirt some of the complimentary mayonnaise on mine to the horror of the locals.

    So glad you enjoyed your Japanese experience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

