Turning Japanese – Part Six

Today we left Tokyo and the comfort of an included known Denny’s breakfast and headed for Osaka.
The trip involved two one hour train rides and a flight that was supposed to take just under an hour but after leaving late and circling for a good fifteen minutes, it landed.
All good.
The thing I’m most excited about so far today is our Airbnb place!! It’s amazing!! And it’s half the cost of any other hotel we had been looking at.
We’ve got six days here.

I know it’s a bit juvenile but I had to giggle at this item I saw in a gift store at the airport
IMG_6069

Now if they had been Red Bull balls I would have been interested!

First impressions of Osaka is that it’s a little more laid back than Tokyo. But Tokyo is on steriods so not sure if that description will mean anything to anyone who hasn’t been here.
In Tokyo if felt like we were always the oldest ones in the crowd whereas here, so far, it seems there’s more a mixture of young and old.

We haven’t sampled any foods yet but I’m dying to get out and see what’s out there.

This morning I was starting to think that the reason they’re generally thinner here is that it’s so damn hard to eat everything on your plate with chopsticks!! But now that I get to Osaka I see there is more variety. I think we were hanging with the “pretty” people in Tokyo.

But you’re reading this to find out about the food so let me tell you… tonight we went to a food court for something simple however, this is definitely the BEST food court we’ve seen since we got here!!!
Up till now, the serves have been fairly small… we kind of knew how much we’d be getting for 680 or so yen…
So we see a place that has an English menu and decide to eat there. Even though the menu was in English, we didnt really know what the items were as they had Japanese names. We tried to ask the girl who said she spoke a little English however every dish we pointed to she said was ‘pork’.
We decided to take a chance and ordered four dishes that were all about 680 yen each.
We should have known something was up when we saw the workers giggle between themselves.
This is what was given to us…
FullSizeRender-21

Before we even got the food we started to get a little scared as we saw other plates coming out and they were massive. No wonder the workers were giggling… they’re probably thinking “here’s a couple of gluttonous Westerners”

I should add, that apart from breakfast, this was our only other meal today… so we had lunch and dinner together – in one go – in front of many other diners who couldn’t believe their eyes.
It really was delicious. The noodles were crispy, two of the dishes had egg in them and they were so light and fluffy. There was meat in at least two of them. Was it pork? I’d like to think so but I’m not entirely sure.

From what I’ve seen in the small amount of time we’ve been here, I’m really going to enjoy the food!!

Oh, and I should mention we also went grocery shopping for a few items like coffee and sugar. We had no idea what we were looking at. We walked up and down the aisles for ages and finally had to ask where the sugar was. It just wasn’t packaged the way I’m used to seeing it!
We also weren’t sure if it was milk we’d picked up from the fridge and had to ask the check out girl. She didn’t speak English so she called over someone else who took what we had picked up away and brought something else back. I’m not sure what it was that we’d picked up initally but I’m glad she corrected.
I also picked up some tea latte which is surprisingly tasty!

I’ll leave you from a few pics from today that are not food related, but you might find interesting anyway.

FullSizeRender-2313315303_10153621917361288_8187672969577837219_n13344715_10153621917406288_577483549473142943_n13342992_10153621917471288_2444444255112297995_n

 

Leave a Reply

