Turning Japanese – Part Four

We woke up in beautifully busy Tokyo this morning but before I get to food related topics, let me tell you a few things that have amused and delighted me…

I’ve discovered that eating or drinking while walking on the street is considered rude but picking your nose seems to be ok.
Talking on your phone on the train is extremely rude and in fact, there are service announcements on the train to tell you not to do it.
Dorky electronic music plays everywhere for all different reasons. For example, when we enter a convenience store, a ten second clip plays. We were in that store for about five minutes and by the end I wanted to punch that speaker out.
When a train arrives on the platform, the music plays again telling you to get on that train.
Maybe it’s to hurry everyone along as they’re all trying to get away from that god awful sound.

I was pleasantly surprised to see how the bathroom was stocked here in our hotel room.
Full bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash AND skin cleansing bottles too!!!

 

And another corner of the bathroom was stocked with all kind of things from razors to hair combs to toothpaste and toothbrushes….
So imagine my surprise when I saw the following packet…
IMG_5914

My first thought was…. is that a condom??
The fact that it was called “Lady’s set” didn’t phase me as things are labelled in interesting ways here in Japan but really, a condom?
I mean hubby and I read all about their “love hotels” before we came here because we almost booked ourselves into one of them. Luckily we found out what they were and changed our booking.

So, I opened the Lady’s set packet and this is what I found.
IMG_5915

Well, that’s NOT a condom but certainly very handy!

Moving right along… breakfast this morning was at Denny’s. It’s part of our hotel package and if you don’t know, Denny’s is an American chain so I was very interested to see what they’d be offering for breakfast.

The menus we were given were both in English and Japanese. I took a quick pic to give you an idea of what we were looking at.

13315685_10153617484701288_6157146683415489692_n

 

There was a little frustrating moment for both myself and the Japanese waiter. I ordered number three from the top line so I said “three, with the mushrooms”.
I totally accept the blame. I should have just said three but the fact that I mentioned mushrooms confused him and he thought I was saying I didn’t want them in the dish. We back and forthed a bit and honestly I wasn’t really sure what was going to come out. Thankfully, it came out as it was supposed to.

I didn’t take a picture but we’ll be back tomorrow so hopefully I’ll remember then.
The mushrooms were delicious and added a lot of flavour to that dish. The toast was thick and I was just craving bread so badly!!! It was a perfect breakfast for me today.

Hubby and I did a lot of touristy things including going to the Oeno Zoo, and we mostly grazed during the day. I can’t get over the sweet shops here.

13310626_10153618052466288_2959234015366361813_n

Their desserts are amazing. How do they stay thin??? And if you do a brief crowd sweep, you’ll notice that there are very few overweight Japanese. I wonder if they think Westerners are all fat?

And then it was time for dinner and again I find myself getting a little stressed as I have no idea what I’m going to eat or where we’re going to eat it.

We started strolling through the streets behind our hotel at Ikebukuro and lo and behold what do we see but a Shakey’s pizza!! Now hubby has a long association with Shakey’s and once we saw it, how could we not go in?
FullSizeRender-6

We had to wait in line to be able to go in, and many people lined up after us as we waited.
The restaurant was full!!! And not full of tourists, but full of locals.
I was very happy that it was a buffet and hubby and I were able to finally really fill our bellies. I felt like we hadn’t eaten for a few days!

As well as pizza’s Shakey’s has beans and cornchips, mojo potatoes, salads, spaghetti, curry and rice and very interestingly, dessert pizza’s! Drinks with free refills and coffee were also included in our buffet price making this easily the best value meal we’ve had since we’ve been here. Very happy to use a regular fork to eat the spaghetti, but I had to have a little giggle when I saw a local trying to eat her pizza with a fork.

No need to visit the convenience store for snacks tonight!! In fact we walked the streets a little longer to try to help us digest the large meal we’d just consumed.
So much life in this place! No matter where you go, there are people everywhere!!

I’ll leave you with one last image. Hubby was begging me to pose with her but all I could think was the caption that would read “frumpy with fabulous”
So instead I took a pic when her back was turned. Gotta love Japan!

FullSizeRender-5

One thought on “Turning Japanese – Part Four

  1. OMG I love Japan! So jealous! One thing my partner and I loved doing was walking around Tokyo Station, there were so many great little places to eat, as well as the food hall in Daimaru – AMAZING! ENJOY! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

