Turning Japanese I really think so…

Today on the Dining Diaries….. Something very much different!

Hubby and I were lucky enough to spend a bit of time in Japan lately and not being familiar with Japanese food, I didn’t feel comfortable reviewing the way I normally would. What I’ve done instead, is give you little updates along the way so you can experience a little as we are.

13312681_10153613787981288_6955314830587707205_n

We were in Narita and if you’re familiar with the walk to the Narita temple, you’ll know that it’s filled with many touristy shops that have different and amazing items.
There’s also many restaurants but hubby felt they were charging “tourist” prices so we ended up getting our first meal in Japan at a place off the train station.

We walked in like a couple of novices. The menu was clearly illustrated so we knew what we were getting but we didn’t know about the ordering process.
And I thought McDonalds did it first….
What they had, and perhaps many places have, is a self service board.
Like a vending machine, you tap the item you want, put your money in (cash only) and the machine spits out a ticket.
You then take this ticket to the counter and the lovely ladies behind the counter whip up something magical for you.

Luckily the Japanese are very polite and a patient lady who spoke three words of English took us almost by the hand and guided us step by step through this process.

13315704_10153613746926288_8934999010791532176_n

Now everyone has said we MUST have Ramen noodles… unfortunately these were not Ramen but they were nice! I wish I could remember exactly what it was.

I was more excited that I was able to use the chopsticks at a four year old level. I’ve been told there are some “kid” ones that you can get that teach you how to use them. I’ll have to look out for those.

The rice on the left was nice, however I could have done without the seaweed (I’m assuming that’s what it was) on top and the huge dollop of horse radish that wanted to make me spew with every bite.

I have to say that everyone we have spoken to here could not be more polite.

Even though the food scares me ( I don’t know what half of it is) and communication is difficult ( shop signs, street signs, trying to talk to a vendor – it’s all difficult) I think I’m starting to fall in love with this place!

One thought on “Turning Japanese I really think so…

  1. Narita is famous for freshwater eel. You should have tried it while you were there! Conversely, there is a “Hard Rock Cafe” in Narita if you want English menu and American food.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

