Campania Sports & Social Club

FullSizeRender (12)Today’s review is something a little bit different.

I was invited to my grandfather’s ninetieth birthday at the Campania Sports & Social Club so I thought, while I was there, I would review this type of establishment.

While the Campania Club caters for people coming off the street, it’s location is a bit out of the way and the tables are all large (to accommodate groups) making it perfect for large gatherings rather than casual dining.

We were first to arrive and the hall was still fairly sparse which made it look even bigger than it already is. I’m not sure how many people  it sits, but our group had seven round tables of ten and we were barely a quarter of the room.
I think it’s actually the perfect spot for large gatherings.
There’s a play area for children to keep them entertained while giving the parents a bit of a break, and there’s a large screen TV which may be antisocial, but I love… especially as the footy was on the night we were there.

FullSizeRender (13)
The staff were very accommodating to our large group and some family members had been in earlier to pretty up the tables a little and have things ready for our celebrations.

As some of us hadn’t seen each other for a while, we were still standing around up to an hour after we’d arrived. I think this caused a bit of frustration for the staff who were waiting for us to order but they were still very patient.

The food selection was a little limited but then again, this is not a pub or restaurant.

Your selection was either pizza, pasta or parmigiana.

FullSizeRender (11)
Napolitana Pizza

The pizza selections were fairly simple but then, this is how I like them.

Good quality dough with fresh toppings and that gorgeous sweet tomato sauce is enough for me.

I ordered two pizza’s to share between the three of us.
We chose the napolitana  pizza and the potato pizza.
My brother, who was sitting next to me, chose the pizza with the lot.

 

 

FullSizeRender (10)
Potato Pizza

The place was packed and even so, we didn’t have to wait long for our pizza’s to arrive.

I tried a piece of the Napolitana Pizza first.
I loved the base. Spongy dough with a crusty  base with a bit of charring which gave the pizza a lovely smokey taste.

The tomato sauce had beautiful flavours throughout.

I like my pizza’s simple. This is the way they’re made in Italy and it’s exactly how I love my pizza.

Simple with a good quality, fresh tomato sauce and that perfect crust. It really was a delight to eat.

I’d never had a potato pizza before and was a little unsure about putting potato on a pizza. However after trying this one, I have to say it was pretty good. The potato was hard enough to enjoy the texture but soft enough to know it had been cooked. I’m not sure I’d order it again myself, but I didn’t mind what I had. The only negative I would say is that it probably needed a bit more seasoning because potato on its own can be a bit bland. Again the base was just perfect.

FullSizeRender (9)
Campania with the lot

 

The Campania with the lot was probably the pizza that would have featured the most toppings but you can see from the picture that most people would think there’s still not enough toppings on there.

 

I would have to disagree as what I love most about pizza is the base especially when that base is cooked well, and these really were.

 

 

 

FullSizeRender (8)

As mentioned, apart from the pizza’s they can also do a few simple pasta dishes and I even saw Parmigiana on the menu, but I didn’t see anyone having that. It would be safe to say that a good portion of the people eating in the club that night were having pizza’s.

 

I did see someone at our table having a pasta dish and it kind of made me wish I’d ordered that because I love a simple pasta dish and if the sauce on the pizza was anything to go by, I can only just imagine how it would have been on the pasta. Their one complaint was that there should have been more sauce!

All in all we had a really good night and I if you’re planning on hosting an informal gathering for a group, and love authentic, home cooked style Italian food, I would recommend the Campania Club.
The staff really were so very lovely and patient with our group and did what they could to make the night and easy and special one for us.

 

Have you eaten at the Campania Club? What was your experience?

Let me know in the comments below.

Till next we chow…

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Campania Sports & Social Club

  1. Yes, Margot, in echoing the statement above, your posts are wonderful and inspiring! I think the pizzas look really good, too! Happy birthday to your grandfather, with many more healthy and happy ones!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

