The Hackney

Today hubby and I returned to The Hackneyhackneyy3.

We’ve been here many times, usually to enjoy a burger but as you can probably see from my previous posts, we’re quite “burgered” out so we thought it might be interesting to see what else they can cook.

The burgers are good enough to keep us coming back so I was hoping the rest of the menu would be just as good.

The staff are always friendly which should be a given but it’s not always the case at different places. I find The Hackney to have a comfortable, not threatening type atmosphere. It’s just one of those places you go to when you don’t feel like cooking!

I ordered the Beer Battered Fish and hubby ordered some Beef Empanadas and the Cheese Chili Fries.

While we waited for our food, hubby noticed the condiment bottles on our table were empty so he went to a nearby table to trade… those bottles were empty too… In fact he had to visit quite a few tables before he found any condiment bottles with anything in them.

The food didn’t take long to come out. Our attention was immediately drawn to the Cheese Chili Fries. They looked delicious and it was a generous serve! The Empanadas looked a bit boring but looks can be deceiving and my fish looked just as you would expect fish and chips to look…

IMG_5540
Beer Battered Fish

 

The first thing I tasted was the fries on my plate.

They were thicker cut style and I love them like this.

They were nicely seasoned, warm and crunchy. Just the way I like them!

 

The fish itself was okaaaaaayyyy. There was a LOT of batter to fish ratio but maybe that’s just the way it’s supposed to be. I wanted to really taste fish and I just couldn’t. There wasn’t enough of it in there. But what I was eating wasn’t unpleasant, just a little disappointing.

The salad was nice and fresh and the splodge of dressing on the top was better than none at all.

IMG_5539
Cheese Chili Fries

Hubby was in heaven with his Cheese Chili Fries.

He said the beef strips were tender and there was a generous amount of them in this serve.

The cheese was gooey and smothered the beef and fries nicely.
Surprisingly, he offered me some and even more surprisingly, I said no… but watching him eat this, it would be a dish I’d recommend if you find yourself at The Hackney.

IMG_5538
Beef Empanadas

 

The Empanadas weren’t so much of a hit.

Again, I didn’t try any but hubby said they were a bit boring.

They were tasty but in a mushy kind of nothing way. He said the pastry was nice but it was kind of sweet.

 

 

All in all I guess it was an average pub meal. Again I’ll say we were comfortable, surrounded by other diners and huge TV screens. Regina Spektor was playing and it was nice just to sit there.

There was nothing terribly bad about it but nothing wowed us either.

Having said that, every time we’ve had a burger, we have enjoyed it to the max!! And we were in “Burgerland” after all so that probably comes as no surprise.

If we happen to find ourselves in The Hackney again, my bet is we’ll get burgers or steak sandwiches with a side of those Cheese Chili Fries.

Have you eaten at The Hackney? What did you think?
Let me know in the comments below!

Till next we chow…

 

One thought on “The Hackney

  1. Margot we used to go there for the seafood platter for two. It was one of the best but on our fourth visit, some time ago, they had gotten a bit stingy in their seafood. So we haven’t been back again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

