Hogs Breath Cafe Glenelg

IMG_5351Even though hubby and I go out for dinner fairly regularly, I always get super excited when we’re about to go out. It probably has something to do with the fact that I don’t have to cook…

This Wednesday afternoon we wandered into Hogs Breath Cafe in Glenelg.
I find Hogs Breath to be one of those places where my expectations are always high, even if the end result is just average. I think that’s what they call great advertising!

So hubby and I walked in reading all the cute little lines they have on the stairway to the top floor (I wish I’d taken a photo of this!)

We were met by our friendly waitress Jasmine at the top of the stairs and she showed us to a table out on the balcony.
It was a warmish but overcast day and we had very pretty views of Glenelg and Jetty road from our table.

Jasmine informed us that the new menu was just five days old. My first thought was “yay, new food!” but as soon as she walked away hubby said “You know what that means don’t you? Higher prices”
They do have a cheaper lunch menu option which looks like it’s good value for money but we didn’t order from there.
IMG_5352.JPGNot feeling very adventurous today, I went for something pretty regular, their Steak Sandwich – hold the beetroot please! (Yeah I know, what kind of an Aussie am I?) and hubby ordered the Serious Burger.
She didn’t ask us if we wanted to order any drinks so just as she was about to walk away I put in my wine order, and curiously, she didn’t ask hubby what he wanted to drink.

As we sat there waiting for our food, the other tables around us quickly filled. I was a little surprised at how busy it was, considering it was a midweek lunch meal but it did make it nicer that there was laughter and chatter happening around us.

When our food came out, the waiter got a bit confused calling one a Steak burger and the other a Serious sandwich. One was bigger than the other, and we had different sides IMG_5357otherwise they looked pretty similar.
My Steak sandwich (above) came with sweet potato wedges and I had to dig into one of these right away as they looked delicious and it really was! IMG_5356They were crispy, sweet and flavoursome! Everything you would want from a sweet potato wedge.

Hubby was still looking at his so I asked what was wrong. He replied “Now I know what the “Serious” part means. It’s seriously small.” And then added “If it wasn’t so serious I’d be laughing”

IMG_5355

Hubby had a side of twisters on his plate and this photo was taken before he’d eaten any.

He was really disappointed with the amount on the plate, especially when he looked around and saw other plates seemed to have more on them.
Have I mentioned that we like big food?

I was pretty happy with what was on my plate. My steak sandwich looked huge!! In fact the first thing I did was cut through and give half of it to hubby.
As I was cutting I noticed it was cold… It wasn’t the meat that was cold, but the bun was filled with a cold coleslaw and sauce and there was really so much of it, IMG_5358that when I did try to take a bite, I could barely taste any meat.
I’m not really complaining as it was tasty and I felt very full after having it, but I was wanting a steak sandwich and it didn’t feel like I’d eaten any steak.

When hubby tasted some of mine he said it didn’t really taste any different to what he’d eaten.

I asked him what he thought of everything he’d eaten and he said the taste was fine but he wasn’t very happy with portion size.

Personally, I enjoyed what I ate and the things I’m complaining about are very minor. It’s not every restaurant’s fault that we have huge appetites and don’t know what a normal portion size is.

Our burgers were both $21.95 which is probably fairly average give or take a few dollars.

Will we go there again? I’d say it’s very likely although probably not for a little while. I do like the atmosphere and the new menu had a few interesting things on there which I’d like to try next time.

 

Have you been dined at Hogs Breath?

What did you think?  Feel free to leave your comments below.

Till next we chow…

 

3 thoughts on “Hogs Breath Cafe Glenelg

  1. We don’t go to Hogs Breath anymore. As you say expectations are high and results are always disappointing and overpriced. Last time we went all our food was cold, kids ice cream came melted and we ended up with gastro. Not even a new menu could tempt us back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We found Hogs Breath food to be quite unpleasant and the whole restaurant needs a scrub as everything seemed greasy, we haven’t been in for over twelve months, to many nice places to eat to bother again and be disappointed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

